Mayor Adams, Performing Hearth Commissioner Kavanagh Honor Heroes at Annual FDNY Medal Day Ceremony

June 1 2022

NEW YORK – New York Metropolis Mayor Eric Adams and Performing New York Metropolis Hearth Commissioner (FDNY) Laura Kavanagh presently honored New York Metropolis Braves on the annual FDNY Medal Day Ceremony. Medals had been awarded to FDNY firefighters, paramedics, emergency medical technicians (EMTs), firefighters, and fireside and emergency medical corporations (EMS) personnel for his or her life-saving work all by 2021.

“I am proud to honor New York’s Bravest presently for his or her extraordinary act of bravery and braveness in defending our metropolis,” he said. Mayor Adams. “After we wished heroes, the men and women of FDNY answered the choice, risking their lives to keep up New Yorkers protected. On behalf of the 8.8 million New Yorkers, because of the firefighters, paramedics, EMTs, firefighters, and all the FDNY members who run within the path of hazard as a substitute of working away from it each day to protect our metropolis.”

“Our medalists characterize the right of FDNY and show the facility of the pillars on which FDNY stands — braveness, dedication and restore,” said Kavanagh . Performing Hearth Commissioner. “When generally known as to movement, they don’t hesitate. As soon as they hear cries for help, when individuals are trapped by fire and smoke, and when New Yorkers are in dire need of medical care, they push forward and save lives.”

  • Firefighter Darren Harsch of Squad Agency 270who acquired the Peter J. Ganci Jr. Division Head Medal. and the New York State Affiliation of Hearth Chiefs of Honor Medal for the rescue of a fellow firefighter trapped under burning rubble after a roof collapsed all through a fire in Queens.
  • Lt. Paul Ardizzone of the Hazardous Provides Tactical Unit (HAZTAC) and Paramedic Shewain George from Station 32 and Hugh Smith from 39 Stationall of whom acquired the Christopher J. Prescott Medal for providing lifesaving superior life assist remedy to 2 civilians trapped in a wreckage in Brooklyn.
  • Lieutenant Dwight Scott of Station 17 and EMT Christopher Juanilla from Station 17 and Tiffany Robledo from Station 40, all of whom are prime recipients of the Yadira Arroyo Medal for disarming someone who stabbed people inside a retailer throughout the Bronx after which providing medical care to the injured. The medal known as in memory of FDNY EMT Yadira Arroyo, who died throughout the line of accountability on March 16, 2017.
  • Member of 41 . Stairs Agency Lieutenant Patrick Twomey and Firefighters John Maguire, Peter Quinn, Robert Rivera, James Soutar, and Kevin G. Hallinan — who acquired the World Commerce Center Memorial Medal for saving 6 people from a fire throughout the Bronx.


Leave a Comment